Agendas and Minutes

June 30, 2020 Planning Commission Meeting

Royalton Township Planning Commission Meeting Minutes
6052 Royalton Road, Braham, MN 55006
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Website:
30 June 2020

7:00 p.m., 30 June 2020, Chair Leslie Orvis called the Royalton Township regular planning commission meeting to order with Members Jeff Schlaeger, Priscilla Schneider, and Gary Valvoda and Clerk Duane Swanson present.  Zoning Administrator John Kemen, Supervisor Wayne Olson, Supervisor Marshall Pearson, Septic Inspector Amy Thompson, and Road Superintendent Dan Saumer also attended.

Member Valvoda moved, Member Schneider seconded, to approve the agenda as presented with the addition of 15191 Brunswick Road.  The motion carried unanimously.

Member Valvoda read the minutes of the 26 May 2020 regular commission meeting.  Member Schlaeger moved, Member Valvoda seconded, to approve the minutes as read.  The motion carried unanimously.

Member Schneider moved, Member Valvoda seconded, to approve the minutes of the working commission meeting of 16 June 2020 as presented.  The motion carried unanimously.

Old Business:

There was no new information on the proposed Saumer land subdivision, although it appears that it has been marked into ten acre units.

Kevin McFerrin and Karen Gross were present to discuss the boundary line question regarding their two parcels.  Currently, a boundary line adjustment agreement appeared not to be feasible.  Ms. Gross noted that she was concerned about difficulties selling her current 2.5-acre parcel if approximately a quarter acre was removed from it.  She currently has 380 feet of road frontage, so any reduction would still meet the township's minimum 300 feet.  Chair Orvis noted that a boundary line adjustment would not change the fact that her parcel would still be listed as 2.5 acres.  Ms. Gross asked if the board could verify in writing that it would approve her "smaller" parcel.  Chair Orvis moved, Member Valvoda seconded, to recommend to the board that a boundary line adjustment/potential quit claim deed would be acceptable to the township if the parties could agree to one.  The motion carried unanimously.

Chair Orvis reported that the Pine County Zoning Board had denied the variance request for 9453 Riverbed Road because of the square footage of the lot and the owners' refusal to remove an existing deck.

The discussion of temporary "plastic" structures will be on the board agenda.

There were no updates on the solar energy ordinance, policies or levy/equipment funds.

New Business:

Chair Orvis and Clerk Swanson introduced the request of Michael Murphy to abandon that portion of Riverbed Road west of Linden.  Mr. Murphy has had the property surveyed.  According to the plat, the road is township property, although the township does not maintain it.  Discussion centered on the legalities of abandonment and the process required for it.  By consensus, this issue will be studied at the next working planning commission meeting.

Zoning Administrator Kemen introduced a request for a variance from the zoning ordinance to permit an accessory building at 15191 Brunswick Road to be constructed less than the minimum distance from the property line.  Administrator Kemen noted his approval of the request and commented that the board does have authority to grant such requests without planning commission's endorsement.  Chair Orvis opined that the ordinance has strict procedures for when variances can be approved.  Clerk Swanson noted that specific justifications need to be given when variances are approved.  By consensus, the commission referred this issue to the board without recommendation.

Chair Orvis scheduled a working commission meeting for 6:30 p.m., Tuesday, 14 July 2020.


The next regular planning commission meeting is 7:00 p.m., Tuesday, 28 July 2020.

At 7:30 p.m., Member Schlaeger moved, Member Valvoda seconded, to adjourn.  The motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Duane P. Swanson, Clerk/Member

Leslie Orvis, Chair/Member

Jeff Schlaeger, Member

Priscilla Schneider, Member

Gary Valvoda, Member