Royalton Township Annual Meeting Minutes

6052 Royalton Road; Braham MN 55006

Email: <u>royalton@genesiswireless.us</u> -- Website: <u>www.royaltontownship.com</u>

March 8, 2016

Unapproved

8:15 pm, March 8, 2016, Clerk Roberta Folkestad called the Royalton Township Annual Meeting to order. The pledge of allegiance was recited.

Nominations for a moderator were called for. Jeff Schlaeger, Trice Pearson, and Roxanne Orvis were nominated. By show of hands Trice Pearson was named moderator.

The moderator asked if everyone had a packet with the order of business for the meeting. After discussion motion by Wayne Olson to approve the agenda as printed, second by Nancy Dahlin Teich, motion carried unanimously.

The Annual Treasurer's Report was read by the clerk, motion by Wayne Olson to approve the Annual Treasurer's Report, second by Troy Downing, motion carried unanimously.

The 2015 Annual Meeting Minutes were read by the clerk, motion to approve the minutes as read with a correction to the 2016 meeting time from 7:30 to 8:15 pm, by Marshall Pearson, second by Jeff Schlaeger, motion carried unanimously.

Zoning Administrator John Kemen gave a presentation on the permit requirements for Royalton Township concerning the Minnesota Building Code adopted in the Royalton Code of Ordinances. Except agricultural buildings, all buildings, additions, changes to buildings, etc. need building permits issued by Minnesota Licensed Building Inspector Marshall Lind. Please contact John Kemen or Royalton Clerk with any questions.

There was a time of discussion of items of concern offered.

Doug Eklund stated that he does not like to see the crop land disappearing into ten acre building sites, which are frequently not kept weed free. The weeds seed onto the adjacent farm land. He would like to see the ordinance changed to one (1), two (2) or two and one-half (2-1/2) acre, property split per forty or eighty acre parcel. No more splits off that parcel. The supervisors suggested that this discussion be added to the board agenda for discussion.

The Board of Supervisors suggested that the 2017 levy be set at: General Fund: \$155,000.00; Road and Bridge Fund: \$50,000.00; Fire Fund: \$14,000.00; for a total of: \$219,000.00. After discussion, motion by Jeff Schlaeger to set the levy at the August 30, 2016 Royalton Township Board Meeting, second by Wayne Olson, motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Nancy Dahlin Teich to authorize the town board to maintain and conduct business for the town as needed under Minnesota Statute 365.10; Subdivisions 1 - 18, second by Troy Downing, motion carried unanimously.

The election results were announced by Head Judge Duane Swanson. There were 124 ballots cast in person and 1 absentee ballot cast for a total of 125 ballots. For Supervisor: Jeff Schlaeger received 70 votes, Leslie Orvis received 53 votes, Bill Cort received 1 vote, and Lou Brock received 1 vote, for a total of 125 votes. For Clerk: Roberta Folkestad received 106 votes, Sherri Anderson received 2 votes, Jessica Peacock received 2 votes, Lynn Saumer received 1 vote, Duane Swanson received 1 vote, and there were 13 blank for a total of 125 votes cast.

Motion by Jeff Schlaeger to set the time to convene and call to order the March 2017 Annual Meeting at 8:15 pm the second Tuesday in March 2017, second by Wayne Olson, motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Roxanne Orvis to recess the Royalton Township Annual Meeting until August 30, 2016, at 7:30 pm, second by Doug Eklund, motion carried unanimously. 8:45 pm, meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted:

Roberta Folkestad Royalton Township Clerk

Trice Pearson Moderator

Bill Cort

Lou Brock

Total

Royalton Township Annual Board of Canvas Minutes

6052 Royalton Road; Braham MN 55006

Email: royalton@genesiswireless.us -- Website: www.royaltontownship.com

March 8, 2016

Unapproved

The Board of Canvass met with Supervisors Marshall Pearson, Wayne Olson, Leslie Orvis, Treasurer Wendy Tchida, and Clerk Roberta Folkestad to declare the results of the 2015 Annual Royalton Township Election reported by Judges Duane Swanson, Gary Valvoda, and Wendy Tchida.

Royalton Township Annual Election Results:		124 in person
		1 absentee
		125 total votes
Supervisor:		
Jeff Schlaeger	70 votes	
Leslie Orvis	53 votes	

1 vote

1 vote

125 votes cast

Clerk:

Roberta Folkestad 106 votes

Sherri Anderson 2 votes

Jessica Peacock 2 votes

Lynn Saumer 1 vote

Duane Swanson 1 vote

Blank <u>13 blank</u>

Total 125 votes cast

Jeff Schlaeger was named Supervisor and Roberta Folkestad was named Clerk.

Respectfully submitted:

Roberta Folkestad Clerk