## March 10, 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes

Royalton Township Annual Meeting Minutes 6052 Royalton Road, Braham, MN 55006

Email: <a href="mailto:royalton@royaltontownship.com">royalton@royaltontownship.com</a> -- Website: <a href="mailto:www.royaltontownship.com">www.royaltontownship.com</a> 10 March 2020

Approved

8:15 p.m., Tuesday, 10 March 2020, Clerk Duane Swanson called the Royalton Township annual meeting to order, with approximately 15 residents and 1 guest present. The assembly recited the pledge of allegiance.

8:16 p.m., The assembly's first order of business was to elect a moderator. Jeff Schlaeger nominated and Les Orvis seconded the nomination of Wayde Lerbs; Jeff Schlaeger moved, Wayne Olson seconded, to close nominations and to cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Lerbs. The motion carried. Mr. Lerbs assumed the chair and stated the order of business.

8:19 p.m., Jeff Schlaeger moved, Marshall Pearson seconded, to adopt the agenda as printed. The motion carried unanimously.

8:21 p.m., Les Orvis moved, Phil Horn seconded, to dispense with the reading of the annual meeting minutes of 12 March 2019 because they were printed in the annual meeting packet that was available to each attendee and, further, to approve the minutes as distributed. The motion carried unanimously.

8:22 p.m., Les Orvis moved, Phil Horn seconded, to dispense with the reading of the reconvened annual meeting minutes of 27 August 2019 because they were printed in the annual meeting packet that was available to each attendee and, further, to approve the minutes as distributed. The motion carried unanimously.

8:24 p.m., Moderator Lerbs read the treasurer's report and commented that it was a positive report. Marshall Pearson moved, Troy Downing seconded, to approve the treasurer's report as read and as printed in the annual meeting packet. The report showed a total worth of the township of \$382,271.03 as of 31 December 2019, with no indebtedness and no additional investments. The motion carried unanimously.

8:25 p.m., Clerk Swanson noted that the annual road report, as required by statute, and the supplemental reports of the board and planning commission were included in the annual meeting packet. Phil Horn moved, Marshall Pearson seconded, to dispense with the reading of the road report and to approve the report as printed. The motion carried unanimously.

8:26 p.m., Moderator Lerbs read the abstract of votes as presented by the election judges: There were 60 in-person voters and 8 absentee voters. For the office of supervisor, Troy Downing received 9 votes, Wayne Olson received 58 votes, and Doug Eklund received one write-in vote. For the office of clerk, Duane Swanson received 67 votes with one blank ballot. Moderator Lerbs thanked the election judges, and the assembly gave them a round of applause.

8:28 p.m., Moderator Lerbs called for general discussion of items of concern: Doug Eklund questioned why the township still has a ten-acre minimum acreage for unplatted lots, noting that, in his opinion, it makes tillable land occasionally unusable because of the small size of fields. Moderator Lerbs thanked the board for their fiscal responsibility and for the upkeep of the roads. No other issues were raised.

8:30 p.m., Les Orvis moved, John Kemen seconded, to allow the board to initiate specific road openings, vacations, or alterations as deemed necessary. The motion carried unanimously.

8:31 p.m., John Kemen moved, Wayne Olson seconded, to authorize the town board to maintain and conduct business for the town as needed under Minnesota Statutes 365.10: subdivisions 1-18, as well as other statutes requiring approval or prior authorization at the annual meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

8:32 p.m., Wayne Olson moved, Jeff Schlaeger seconded, to convene and call to order the next annual meeting at 8:15 p.m., 9 March 2021 (the second Tuesday in March). The motion carried unanimously.

8:33 p.m., Moderator Lerbs noted that the board had recommended a 2021 levy as follows: general fund, \$129,000; road and bridge fund at \$70,000; and fire fund at \$20,000 for a total levy of \$219,000. Moderator Lerbs noted that this levy had remained constant for several years. He explained that the assembly could set a levy at this meeting or the annual meeting could be recessed until a later date for finalization of the levy. Les Orvis moved, Jeff Schlaeger seconded, to adopt the levy as recommended and not to recess the meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

8:34 p.m., Moderator Lerbs asked if there was any other business that should come before the meeting. Hearing none, Phil Horn moved, Marshall Pearson seconded, to adjourn the annual meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted:

Duane P. Swanson, Town Clerk

Attest: Wayde Lerbs, Moderator